A little gem
The alcove in this quadrangle is one of fourteen removed from old London Bridge on its demolition in 1832.
It was purchased by the hospital in 1861 for ten guineas (£10.50p) as a shelter for convalescing patients, and formed the main feature of a wall from the south west corner of the old "Lunatick House" along the western boundary of the "Park" towards Guy's House. In 1901 the alcove was removed to the south end of the "Park" whence, in 1926, on the initiative of Mr Francis Pelham Whitbread, the treasurer it was moved to this position.
The alcove is of more recent origin than Guy's Hospital as the alcoves were added to London Bridge during reconstruction and widening measures taken in 1757 - 62 by the Clerk of the City Works, George Dance the elder.
See where: London Daily Photo Map